The less-known rules of the game of chess

The less-known rules of the game of chess

Many individuals who have not had a profound approach to chess have some doubts and confusion about specific guidelines of chess. Often I started dealing with kids who told me they knew all the guidelines of the game and I could nevertheless see that they did not know the name of the pawns. In this post, we will remember some of the relocations and rules of the game of chess that can be complicated or that particular errors have actually been developed over the years.


To start let’s clarify that it is not legal to begin the game playing 2 various pawns on the exact same play. This is a prevalent incorrect guideline and though I do not its origin I have seen the number of children and grownups that are new to chess have been taught this rule. Pawns move only one step in a straight line, except when they have remained in your box start, where the player can opt to advance it a step or 2 actions. However, advance to the start of the game 2 different one-step pawns is absolutely prohibited.


When the pawns reach the end of its route, i.e. the opposite edge of the board, promotion takes place. The pawn becomes the piece chosen by the player (except a pawn or a king). If we have another woman on the board, it is true that you cannot end up being queen. But you can. There are lots of ways in which this particular tactic can be used.

THE Passant

It is one of the most recent guidelines that kids or grownups are taught who participate in classes that teach chess. As we stated previously, when we have a pawn in their house box we can choose to advance it by one or two steps. If you move 2 steps and find ourselves with an enemy pawn, it can catch in the same way as if our pawn had already advanced one action. After this relocation, referred to as passant, the resulting circumstance on the board is the same as if we had actually taken a single action to pawn. This is the position we take as a starting point. White pawn can prepare its next move and play to advance two actions c2 pawn.

So is the position after White’s move. Now is the turn of the black, which can make catching “en passant”.

To do so, they record the black pawn c4 and d4 pawn bears them to c3, i.e. they traced the opponent pawn as if it had been moved only one step.

And this is the resulting position after passant.

Another rule on which there is confusion is called castling. As mentioned above castling is the only relocation that can make moving two pieces possible at the same time. These 2 pieces are the king and among the towers. The king always moves 2 squares to make castling, whether it is the long castling or brief castling. However, to make castling it is important that certain conditions are met.

Initially, to castling we do not need to move either of the two pieces that made the castling, neither the tower nor the king. If you have moved them before castling, it is not legal, even if the parts have actually returned to their box of origin.

2nd castling cannot be made if the king is threatened, i.e., in check. But that’s legal castling if the tower is under threat. In fact, in the section of interests Cap shine publication, we have a story in which Victor Korchnoi himself, grandmaster and world runner-up, asked the arbitrator if he could make a complete game because its tower was threatened.

Finally, to clarify that castling cannot be carried out if any of pieces through which it passes the king for castling is threatened.

Nevertheless in the next position, white can castle long, although the box b1 is threatened by the bishop on d3 since the white king does not go through b1 to the castle. Rather the bishop d3 avoids brief castling.

We hope this article has served to dispel some typical concerns about the guidelines of chess. If you know somebody who might have doubts, share on socials media and help everyone to understand the game in a better manner.